Dublin International Piano Festival & Summer Academy | Thierry Perron | 2014 Student Participant

Thierry Perron - Canada

Stacks Image 31601
Born in Québec, Canada, Thierry Perron began piano at the age of ten with Vesna Tasic. His progress was astonishing and at 13 he was admitted to the Quebec Conservatory of Music where he studied under Prof. Suzanne Beaubien-Lowe. In 2009, he caught Maestro Yoav Talmi’s attention and received his first professional soloist engagement with the Orchestre symphonique de Québec (OSQ). In 2010, he won the Grand Prize of the Chopin Contest of the OSQ with his interpretation of the Rondo à la Krakowiak. In a review in Le Soleil (Québec), his playing was described as “naturally singing with a fertile musical imagination”. In 2011, famous pianists Alain Lefèvre and Louis Lortie, impressed by the maturity and elegance of his playing and his blossoming talent, offered him support for his studies at the beginning of his career. In June 2011, in a promotional concert for new talent at Montreal’s Place des Arts, he played Liszt’s Mephisto Waltz, a performance La Presse (Montreal) hailed as "amazingly solid, indicating, already, what a virtuoso and what a musician he will be". In 2012, he began a bachelor degree in musical interpretation at the prestigious Jacobs School of Music in the United States with the distinguished piano teacher Menahem Pressler.  He played once again with the OSQ in April 2013, performing Chopin's first piano concerto. In July 2014, he won first prize in the Canadian Music Competition, where he performed Prokofiev's first concerto. In September 2014, he will participate in the Concours International André Dumortier in Belgium. He currently studies at the Frost School of Music in Miami with renowned Belgian professor Evelyne Brancart.
AGE: 20

Quebec Conservatory of Music
Indiana University – Jacobs School of Music
University of Miami – Frost School of Music

Vesna Tasic
Suzanne Beaubien-Lowe
Menahem Pressler
Evelyne Brancart

SCHUMANN Fantasy in C Major, op. 17
CHOPIN Etude in A flat Major, op. 25, no. 1
LISZT Sonetto 123 del Petrarca, s. 161
LISZT/PAGANINI Etude in E major, “Arpeggio”